Creating support groups step two in the fight against depression.

That’s the thing about depression: A human being can survive almost anything, as long as she sees the end in sight. But depression is so insidious, and it compounds daily, that it’s impossible to ever see the end. The fog is like a cage without a key.
Elizabeth Wurtzel 

As stated in the above comment my previous posts we discussed the severity and reality of suffering with depression and then set ourselves upon a path to try and improve the way we feel about ourselves, a mammoth task I  know, but better to take on this challenge then live with the pain and heartache we do from day to day.

The last post discussed the benefits of certain foods and supplements if you missed it click on the link below and have a read.

http://organisedmommy.com/2013/10/15/step-one-to-beating-the-blues-omega-3-fatty-acids/

Today we are working on step two, which involves creating a support network around ourselves, if you are any thing like I was my depression was a huge embarrassment and I kept it to myself always putting on a brave face and a smile, however my friends were beginning to notice how I simply vanished for weeks at a time in the end many of them stopped trying to reach out to me because I simply would not let them in, I had in many ways made an agreement with my depression I knew it was coming to I let it in, have it’s feast and then it was full let it walk away leaving me drained and empty and starting over.

Bills left unpaid, messages not returned, homework to be done, I started things but rarely finished them because once the depression knocked at my door for however long it needed to stay I was it’s slave.

I started to quite quite annoyed with this pattern of life, in fact I was infuriated with it nut more so at myself for being able to see what was happening and yet still letting it happen, a very difficult place to be though because I wanted to change but had no fight left in me, each episode of depression leaving more drained and subdued.

The time I started to heal was when I finally confided in a friend who has stuck around, waiting patiently recognizing that something was wrong something more then I was letting on, being able to talk with her seemed to open the flood gates, her acceptance, her understanding, her own experiences gave me the boost I needed to then speak with my family members, not all understood in fact one of my families members was down right rude about it but I referred back in my mind to the other friends and family I had told and held onto these comments.  At first these ones carried me a little and now, well now I carry myself!! I am actually a stronger person for it despite the self harming or attempted suicides yes I am stronger and more determined then ever to be in control of me.  I am not completely healed, I have my days when I feel like hell but then so do most people it possible though to get through depression to learn to slam the door in it’s face to an un-receptive householder and say leave me alone.

So we need to create a support network some advice from a dealing with depression guide:

10 tips for reaching out and building relationships

  • Talk to one person about your feelings.
  • Help someone else by volunteering.
  • Have lunch or coffee with a friend.
  • Ask a loved one to check in with you regularly.
  • Accompany someone to the movies, a concert, or a small get-together.
  • Call or email an old friend.
  • Go for a walk with a workout buddy.
  • Schedule a weekly dinner date.
  • Meet new people by taking a class or joining a club.
  • Confide in a counselor, therapist, or clergy member.

 

  • Turn to trusted friends and family members. Share what you’re going through with the people you love and trust. Ask for the help and support you need. You may have retreated from your most treasured relationships, but they can get you through this tough time.
  • Try to keep up with social activities even if you don’t feel like it. Often when you’re depressed, it feels more comfortable to retreat into your shell, but being around other people will make you feel less depressed.
  • Join a support group for depression. Being with others dealing with depression can go a long way in reducing your sense of isolation. You can also encourage each other, give and receive advice on how to cope, and share your experiences.

(http://www.helpguide.org/mental/depression_tips.htm)

The social community on places like Facebook, can be a great place to start sharing your feeling and having your daily rant but you need more then this so use it as a stepping stone to get out in the community and make new friends.

If you struggle try just speaking to another mom while waiting to pick up your children from school, or try setting up a book group or holding a makeup party . Volunteer or attend some social events hosted by the local religious community there are many way to start.  Maybe there are support groups for depression, if not why not try starting one it doesn’t need to be much just a small group to encourage one another.

You can do this, believe in yourself and your bodies ability to heal and move forward.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

