Who do our children associate with??? Who do we???

Image

 

Do you consider television as association?

I was married at sixteen and just seventeen when I was pregnant with my oldest son, as a young wife and mother there were many things that never occurred to me as the wisdom and experience of life simply was not there.  It was after a wonderful sermon that i discovered that the television in our homes is actually a form of ASSOCIATION, not just for our children but for ourselves.  As with any child raised in a god fearing house the following scripture ran through my head : 

(1 Corinthians 15:32-34) . . .”  Do not be misled. Bad associations spoil useful habits.  Wake up to soberness in a righteous way and do not practice sin, for some are without knowledge of God. I am speaking to move YOU to shame.

Yes our association whether adult or child can seriously affect the progress we are making as spiritual individuals.  

The following is a snippet from “The Watchtower”

 *** w73 2/1 p. 73 par. 14 Are You Living for What You Can Get Out of Life Now? ***

Young people have a great temptation to associate with worldly youths of their own age. They are often pressured into joining sports teams, clubs and groups. There is a desire to be accepted and often, to be accepted, one must show that one will do daring and even unscriptural things. It is easy to succumb to worldly fads in grooming and dress, or to be tempted into picking up a paperback novel from a bookstand with an eye-catching cover that appeals to fleshly desires. There is also the lure of television or movies that feature violence, highlight sadism or glorify sex. There are authors, too, of books on philosophy, higher criticism, and so forth, with whom we do not wish to associate. If we read these books, it is tantamount to sitting down before them and letting them fill our minds with their ideas on life

That last line is hard hitting by watching (and reading etc) information that goes against bible principles we might as well be sitting at the same table as these ones and joining in.  

This is an area I seriously  need to work on, although I am great with what the children watch and am very strict wanting to protect their little minds, never allowing them to watch programs unless I know the content or have viewed the program myself – monitoring their book reading etc, how often I think I have failed to do the same my self…. the things I will laugh at or gasp at on the TV and keep watching, yet if these things were happening in my living room I would not stand for it, so why do I not see that that box with a sheet of glass in it does not protect me anymore than if it were happening in my own home. 

After reading the words of Job have resolved my heart to be firmer and not just lt things pass in front of my eyes because its on the TV screen :  

(Job 31:1)  “A covenant I have concluded with my eyes.. . .  

Yes Job made a covenant with his eyes not to expose them to anything that could lead him to think or act on any sinful matters, and he proved a true and faithful man to god being blessed for his actions.

(Matthew 5:29) . . .If, now, that right eye of yours is making you stumble, tear it out and throw it away from you. For it is more beneficial to you for one of your members to be lost to you than for your whole body to be pitched into Ge·hen′na.

Leave a Reply

